Category: 3 Rules

3 Rules You Thought You Knew

623 Hooking What would be examples of an infraction warranting a major penalty for hooking? Rule Reference 623(a). 1) A player is hooked around the waist, and the offending player is able to steer the opponent violently into the boards …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 11 Read More »

409 – Calling of Penalties Player A1 has committed an infraction calling for a misconduct penalty while Team B is in possession of the puck. How does the Referee indicate that the infraction has occurred? He does not signal the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 10 Read More »

Wishing you and your family a safe and prosperous 2020! 630 – OffSides May a goal ever be allowed during the course of a delayed offside? No. Rule Reference 630(d.3). The attacking team caused the puck to enter the end …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 9 Read More »

Happy Holidays! Wishing you a beautiful holiday season and a new year of peace and happiness. 203 – Players In Uniform May players of the same team wear the numbers “01” and “1” during the same game? Yes. Rule Reference …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 8 Read More »

** REMINDER ** You should have your 19/20 Crest on your sweater now! If you don’t have it, you can’t work! Goalkeeper Penalties A goalkeeper is assessed a minor penalty for which his team places a substitute player on the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 7 Read More »

** REMINDER ** You should have your 19/20 Crest on your sweater now! If you don’t have it, you can’t work! Linesman The Linesman shall report to the Referee at the next stoppage of play his version of any infraction …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 6 Read More »

** REMINDER ** You should have your 19/20 Crest on your sweater now! If you don’t have it, you can’t work! * * *304 – Protective Equipment* Must a request come from the Captain of the opposing team before the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 5 Read More »

610 – Delaying The Game When a goal post has been displaced intentionally, does the Referee or Linesman stop the play? Any of the On-Ice Officials may stop play, but only the Referee may assess the penalty. Rule Reference 610(e). …

3 Rules vol 2, issue 2 Read More »

By now,  you should have received an email from USA Hockey entitled “Stronger Penalty For Hate Language”. If you can’t find it in your Inbox, check your Spam folder. Hateful, discriminatory, and offensive language have no place in our sport …

Stronger Penalty For Hate Language Read More »

403 – Major Penalties The Referee assesses a minor penalty to a player and it is announced as such. Before the ensuing face-off he decides that the situation warrants a major penalty to be called instead of the minor penalty. …

3 Rules – vol 2, issue 1 Read More »