Author: admin

Written By Brad Lohmeier – posted on Facebook. To the hockey parents I’ve witnessed, You may not realize it but the “worst referee ever” and the ref who “sucks” just happens to belong to the person standing beside you. He’s …

To the hockey parents Read More »

108 – Signal And Timing Devices A face-off occurs with ten seconds remaining in the period. As play begins, one of the On-Ice Officials notices that the clock has not started. Should the Official stop play immediately to remedy the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 15 Read More »

603 – Boarding A player is skating behind an opponent as they head towards the end boards. At the bottom of end zone face-off circle, the trailing player trips the opponent and causes him to lose control and crash into …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 14 Read More »

Follow Up Question from last week – High Stick Attacking player deflects puck in front of net into net.  Stick was coming down from above shoulders, contact with puck made after stick returns below shoulders. This is a good goal …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 13 Read More »

Rule 501 Appointment of Officials An On-Ice Official arrives at the game only to realize that he forgot his helmet. Is he allowed to officiate in this instance without a helmet? No. Rule Reference 501(c). Each official is required to …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 12 Read More »

623 Hooking What would be examples of an infraction warranting a major penalty for hooking? Rule Reference 623(a). 1) A player is hooked around the waist, and the offending player is able to steer the opponent violently into the boards …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 11 Read More »

409 – Calling of Penalties Player A1 has committed an infraction calling for a misconduct penalty while Team B is in possession of the puck. How does the Referee indicate that the infraction has occurred? He does not signal the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 10 Read More »

Wishing you and your family a safe and prosperous 2020! 630 – OffSides May a goal ever be allowed during the course of a delayed offside? No. Rule Reference 630(d.3). The attacking team caused the puck to enter the end …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 9 Read More »

Happy Holidays! Wishing you a beautiful holiday season and a new year of peace and happiness. 203 – Players In Uniform May players of the same team wear the numbers “01” and “1” during the same game? Yes. Rule Reference …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 8 Read More »

** REMINDER ** You should have your 19/20 Crest on your sweater now! If you don’t have it, you can’t work! Goalkeeper Penalties A goalkeeper is assessed a minor penalty for which his team places a substitute player on the …

3 Rules You Thought You Knew – Vol 2 Issue 7 Read More »