Rule Review – Issue 5

Puck Must Be Kept In Motion

A player is playing the puck along the boards with his skates or stick, but not advancing the puck in an attempt to obtain a stoppage of play. What should the Referee do if this action continues?

Initially the Referee should verbally alert the player to advance the puck, provided he is not being checked. If, after approximately three seconds expire, no attempt has been made to advance the puck, the Referee shall stop play and assess a minor penalty for delaying the game. Rule References 632(b) and 610(a).

It is most important for the Referee to verbally instruct the player to move the puck.

Throwing The Stick

With the goalkeeper off the ice, an opposing player gains possession of the puck on a breakaway in the Neutral Zone, and the puck is knocked off his stick by a stick thrown by a trailing defending player. The attacking player himself is not interfered with, and would easily be able to regain possession of the loose puck, continue on his breakaway and (in the Referee’s opinion) score a goal. Should the Referee stop play immediately and award the goal?

Yes. Rule Reference 637(b).

In this situation the offended player is not required to be in his Attacking Zone for an awarded goal to apply when a stick or other object is thrown or shot. Note also that if the Referee does not feel that the player would have had a clear shot on goal had the thrown stick not occurred, then the proper call is a minor penalty since the infraction did not occur in the offending player’s Defending Zone.

Sticks

A player uses a hollow shafted stick without the insertion plug on the top. Shall the Referee allow a player to play with such a stick?

No, the stick shall be replaced immediately. Rule Reference 301(a).

The player must have the plug inserted or have a sufficient amount of tape covering the exposed end of the shaft to prevent injury.

Your turn

Have a question that you’d like to see answered here? Knowledge that you’d like to share? Just hit reply, we’d love to hear from you.

#WeHaveYourBack

Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Click reply, and we’ll do what we can to help.

If you would like to promote your business to other officials, click reply to this email with the details.

Posted in Rules

Rule Review – Issue 4

Broken Stick

The goalkeeper breaks his stick. A player of the same team obtains a goalkeeper’s stick at the players’ bench and, in the act of taking the stick to the goalkeeper, he slides it along the ice to the goalkeeper. Is this action considered to be legal?

Yes. Rule References 605(b), 625(a.7) and 637(a). No penalty would be imposed unless the stick was thrown in the direction of the puck (Rule 637) or does so for the purpose of distracting an opponent (Rule 625).

High Stick / Faceoff Location

A player high sticks the puck which deflects to an opponent. The opponent makes no attempt to play the puck, hoping to get a face-off in the offending team’s Defending Zone when the puck is first played by a member of the offending team. What should the Referee do?

The Referee should stop play and the ensuing face-off shall take place at an end face-off spot in the Defending Zone of the offending team. Rule Reference 621(c). The non- offending team has no obligation to play the puck in this instance, because of the high stick infraction committed by the opposing team.

Interference

The puck is legally in the crease. It is loose. It is sitting next to the goalie’s leg pad, with the leg horizontal to the ice. An attacking player pushes the puck in the net, along with the goalie’s leg. Goal or no goal?

An attacking player may not physically interfere with a goalkeeper in his/her crease. While a puck that is located in the crease is “in play”, an attacking player may not push or otherwise force the puck into the goal by making contact with the goalkeeper.

Your turn

Have a question that you’d like to see answered here? Knowledge that you’d like to share? Just hit reply, we’d love to hear from you.

#WeHaveYourBack

Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Click reply, and we’ll do what we can to help.

If you would like to promote your business to other officials, click reply to this email with the details.

Posted in Rules

Rule Review – Issue 3

** REMINDER **
Your last chance for seminars is this week in Canton. Don’t miss your chance! Wednesday October 10, Level 3 and Saturday October 13th Level 1 and Level 2. Preregistration is required, visit https://usahockey.com/officialseminars to get started.

Penalties

During a delayed penalty signal to Team A, Team B scores a goal. The signaled penalty is recorded but not served. Is the signaled infraction included in the cumulative penalty rules for players and teams?

Yes. Rule References 401(b) and 409(b).

Each penalty that is recorded on the scoresheet, whether or not it is actually served, counts towards the cumulative penalty rules.

Penalty Shot

The Referee has signaled a delayed minor penalty for charging on Team A. Team B maintains possession of the puck and a Team B player is fouled from behind on a breakaway resulting in a penalty shot call. Is the minor penalty assessed in the normal manner and if so, what happens if a goal is scored on the penalty shot?

The charging penalty is assessed in the normal manner regardless as to whether a goal is scored during the penalty shot. Rule References 406(a), 402(c) and 409(b).

Only one delayed minor penalty can be terminated as the result of a goal. In this instance, the penalty shot is awarded in lieu of the minor penalty for a “fouled from behind,” which takes the place of the minor penalty being assessed. A goal scored on a penalty shot does not terminate a different minor penalty.

Goalkeeper Penalties

If a goalkeeper receives a major and a game misconduct penalty for slashing, does the player designated to serve the major penalty have to enter the penalty bench immediately?

Yes. Rule Reference 407(b).

A player designated to serve the major penalty of a goalkeeper must be placed on the penalty bench immediately, unless the coincident major penalty rule applies.

Your turn

Have a question that you’d like to see answered here? Knowledge that you’d like to share? Just hit reply, we’d love to hear from you.

#WeHaveYourBack

Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Click reply, and we’ll do what we can to help.

Posted in Announcements

Rule Review – Issue 2

3 Rules you thought you knew – Issue 2
Thanks for taking the time to read this email, we certainly hope that it’s helpful. If one official gets better, we all get better.

Jewelry

Must a player remove earrings or tape them to their body?

A HECC certified helmet (with ear pieces) or clear tape that secures the earring to the body will satisfy the rule requirements. Rule Reference 305(c).

Misconduct

A player directs offensive comments or actions towards an opponent, which the Referee does not hear. The non-offending team brings it to the Referee’s attention. May the Referee assess the prescribed game misconduct penalty based on the reported incident?

No. While these situations threaten the integrity of the game, the actual incident must be heard and/or seen by an On-Ice Official in order to assess the game misconduct penalty.

Rule Reference 601(e.3). The Referee should report the incident to the Coach or Captain of the team allegedly using the offensive comments or actions, and advise the team of the required penalty if such comments or actions are subsequently heard (or seen).

Slashing

For a slashing penalty to be assessed, must stick contact be made with the opposing player?

No. Rule Reference 634(a).

If the object of a slashing motion is to intimidate an opponent or to actually try to strike him, stick contact is not necessary in order for a penalty to be assessed.

Your turn

Have a question that you’d like to see answered here? Knowledge that you’d like to share? We’d love to hear from you.

#WeHaveYourBack

Have you as an official been placed in a situation that you feel was not resolved to your satisfaction? We can help you. We are here to support you. Abuse by a player or coach is never acceptable, we have your back. Send us an email at Seminars@mahockey.org, and we’ll do what we can to help.

Posted in Announcements

Rule Review – Issue 1

A Step Forward

In an effort to strengthen general rule knowledge by officials here in MA, we will be sending an email with a few rules questions/references for your review.

We appreciate you taking the time to read, hopefully you’ll get some clarity on some things that you already knew.

 

Progressive Suspensions – Coaches – 411(b)

Any team that receives three (or more) major penalties in the same game shall have its Head Coach suspended for the next game of that team.

When you do your game report be sure that you add an additional item in the game report for the coach and select 3 or more major penalties in the game.

 

Crosschecking

A player checks an opponent with two hands on the stick and the blade of the stick on the ice. May this be considered crosschecking?

No. Rule Reference 609(Note).

A cross-check is a check delivered with the stick while the player has two hands on the stick and the blade off the ice

Positioning

With play in the neutral zone, the officials in a two-official system should be:

  1. On their blue line straddling the line.
  2. At opposite blue lines, diagonal from one another, with both skates in the neutral zone.
  3. At opposite blue lines, diagonal from one another, with both skates in the attacking zone.

The officials should be on the opposite blue lines, diagonal from one another, with both skates in the attacking zone.

Posted in Announcements

Congratulations to Paul Stewart

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Gordon “Red” BerensonNatalie DarwitzLeland “Hago” HarringtonDavid Poile and Paul Stewart will be enshrined into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame as the Class of 2018, it was announced today by USA Hockey.

The 2018 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration will take place at the JW Marriott Nashville in Nashville, Tennessee, on Wednesday, December 12, at 7 p.m. Tickets for the event will go on sale on Monday, August 13, at 10 a.m. ET at USHockeyHallofFame.com.

“This class has had an enormously positive impact on hockey in our country,” said Jim Smith, president of USA Hockey. “Their contributions have helped shape and advance our sport over many decades, and we look forward to formally enshrining each of the five honorees in December.”

[Read More]

Posted in Announcements

Registration is Open!

The 2018/2019 Season is officials open.

Register as an official with USAHockey at https://www.usahockeyregistration.com

Then Register for your Seminar at: https://www.usahockey.com/officialseminars

The Seminar schedule is as follows:

Haverhill 8/15  – Level 1 / New Officials ONLY  (Wednesday night, class starts at 4:00)

Shrewsbury – 8/22 – Level 3

Shrewsbury HS –  8/25 Level 1 and Level 2

Agawam – 8/26 – Level 1,2 & 3

Andover – 9/8 – Level 1 & Level 2

Andover – 9/11 – Level 3

Hyannis – 9/22 – Level 1,2 & 3

Marlboro – 10/4 – Level 4

Canton – 10/10 – Level 3

Canton – 10/13 – Level 1 and Level 2

Please also note that every official that is 18 or older must complete a CORI background check this season. You will be able to complete this requirement at your seminar.

Posted in Announcements

18/19 Registration Changes

On the USA front there are some changes to the registration for the 18-19 season.

USA Hockey is going to a two-tier fee structure starting with the 2018-19 season. There will be one fee for Level 1 and another fee for all other levels.
Level 1 $45 + $25 (MA Fee) =$70
Level 2,3 & 4 are now all the same fee $90 + $25 (MA Fee) = $115.

Important change for Level 1 officials that are 16 or over – you can only remain at level 1 for 2 years, and then you will have to move to level 2.

If you are a returning level 3 or 4 ( meaning you passed the closed book test and are a level 3 and skating test for level 4) you can test out of the elective modules.  Additionally, in the 19-20 season if you are a level 3 or 4 for three years (complete level 3 or complete level 4 for 3 consecutive years) you can attend a 3 day seminar and become tenured, more information on this program will be shared shortly.

All open-book exams will be level-specific with only 50 questions on each test.

Finally, all levels need to have all requirements complete by March 15 (was previously April 30th).

Posted in Announcements, Stripes

2018 Officials Seminars

Dates and Locations are subject to change, but they are pretty solid at this point.

Registration opens August 1, 2018

8/22 – Shrewsbury L3
8/25 – Shrewsbury L1 + L2

8/26 – Agawam L1 + L2 + L3

9/8 – Andover L1 + L2
9/11 – Andover L3

9/22 – Hyannis L1 + L2 + L3

10/4 – Level 4

10/10 – Canton L3
10/13 – Canton L1 + L2

Also keep in mind that USA Hockey is implementing some registration changes this year, read more at USA Hockey.com

Posted in Announcements

#PutYourStickOut

#PutYourStickOut

As a tribute to the victims and survivors of the bus accident involving the Humboldt Broncos Junior A team, we encourage all USA Hockey families to leave a stick outside their front door this weekend in support of the Broncos. While we cannot be there in person to mourn with the Humboldt community, each of us can show support by placing a stick outside on your porch this weekend. As was so aptly written … “Leaving it out on the porch tonight. The boys might need it … wherever they are.”
From everyone at USA Hockey, our heartfelt condolences continue to be with the Humboldt community. Our thoughts and prayers will forever be with all involved.
Sincerely,
Jim Smith
President, USA Hockey
Pat Kelleher
Executive Director, USA Hockey
 
And the entire USA Hockey Family
Posted in Announcements